Word War I and Early Modern Art

World War I was obviously a horrific event in our history as over 15 million people died and beautiful landscapes and cities were destroyed. This was also considered the first modern war because of the modern weapons that were used during this time. These weapons were a huge reason for why this war was so deadly and such a disaster. Tanks, airplanes, grenades, machine guns and poison gasses were invented. However, since all the countries were using similar weapons to fight one another, it basically led to a long drawn out stalemate with people continuing to die left and right. The war ultimately ended with the Austria-Hungarian empire and the Ottoman empire dissolving, and the Soviet-Union forming. The League of Nations was also created to prevent another World War from occurring. However, they obviously failed to do so as World War II came soon after which was anticipated by some people of the United States like John Maynard Keynes. As Word War I was a huge event and basically everyone was involved in some form or another, it also influenced the arts. The Dada movement was a reactive movement protesting the brutality and senselessness of the war. Dadaism was supposed to portray the opposite of art, to be considered anti art. This concept was really difficult for me to grasp at first, but I sort of understand it as the (anti)artists slightly making fun of the war by producing meaningless and irrational art because they viewed the war as meaningless and irrational.

Fountain by Marcel Duchamp

The first piece that I found to be the most irrational piece of art was Fountain by Marcel Duchamp “made” in 1917. I put quotation marks because Duchamp only purchased the item and signed it “R. Mutt 1917” and then tried to display it. This obviously received a lot of negative feedback from many people and the original is actually nowhere to be found now so Duchamp has reproduced it a few times. Duchamp actually defended this piece stating that he had “created a new thought for that object.” He disagreed with others who claimed that art must be a “craft of the hand” and that art really only should have something to do with  the artist’s idea’s of/for the work. I feel like this is a little farfetched to be considered art and I also believe Duchamp was being sarcastic with this piece, but it has stayed famous for all this time and has gotten a lot of attention so maybe Duchamp was on to something.
As Dadaism became more mainstream, the Dada artists dissolved their (non)movement as this was the opposite direction they were going for.

The War Cripples by Otto Dix

An artist that also stood out to me a lot was German painter/printer Otto Dix. He was also at one point part of the Dada movement. He entered his painting The War Cripples painted in 1920 in Berlin in the First International Dada Fair. I chose this piece due to its interesting 1920-war-crippleshistory. This painting made it out of the First International Dada Fair, where other artists and their paintings weren’t as lucky as the military filed charges of insult against several artists at the exhibition. Sadly though, when Hitler came to power, the painting was seized and hung up in the Nazi’ Degenerate Art Exhibition and was titled Slander against the German Heroes of the World War. I think Dix was trying to display the cripples still having a sense of national pride even though the war was irrational and unnecessary which he didn’t understand. It was definitely influenced by the war and the horrors that came with it. Sadly the location of this painting is unknown and is presumed to have been destroyed.

Ruined Country by Paul Nash

My third piece that I wanted to discuss was Ruined Country by Paul Nash. His paintings were very obviously depictions of the world we had destroyed during the war. He was born in London and was already an artist prior to the war. During the war, in http://www.world-war-pictures.com1916, he became a lieutenant and went to the Western Front. At one point, he fell into a trench and broke his rib leaving him to be one of the lucky men to leave the Western Front alive. However, he produced a lot of sketches during his time there and created a series of paintings from his sketches which were put on display in 1917. Due to this series, he was appointed a war artist by the British War Propaganda Bureau. Nash also returned later on to produce another series of paintings of the land that had been destroyed. Ruined Country was one of the paintings he produced here. I chose this painting because it seemed less “dark” than the other paintings he produced here and I already have crippled men in my blog.

I felt like the pieces that came after the war had no more glamour in them like the previous eras/movements. They focused on the middle class and the war. They were much more abstract. There were no more beautiful women and flowers flying through the wind and little cupid’s and lily pads making a beautiful painting, but much more dark depictions of the world and what it has become. I think the modern war led people to see the world as a darker place as we learned then what we are capable of.

Works Cited

“Catalog Paintings – Otto Dix.” The Online Otto Dix Project. Web. 2 Nov. 2015.

“What Dada Was and Why It Matters.” About.com Education. Web. 2 Nov. 2015.

Haycock, David. “PAUL NASH, War Artist.” World War Pictures. Web. 2 Nov. 2015.

“Marcel Duchamp, Fountain, 1917/1964.” SFMOMA. Web. 2 Nov. 2015.

“Paul Nash.” Voices Compassion Education. Web. 2 Nov. 2015.

8 thoughts on “Word War I and Early Modern Art

  1. I feel that I can relate in some senses about the art not having much glamour to them as the other eras did. But they held an emotion that fit the times. With the wars the wasn’t any real happiness going on, just the fear and anger of the war. They depicted the reality of the time and the truth of the violence that was happening. I found this site and it talks about the art movements during this time and shows what I think are great examples of the emotional pieces during the war.

    http://madefrom.com/history/world-war-one/painting/

    I really liked the structure of the piece and the information that you presented in it. It was really easy to follow and I really liked the art pieces you chose.

    Like

  2. I really liked reading your opinion in this blog. What hit me the most was the last paragraph and how you talked about the way art was changing. It’s sad to think that World War I was what it took for artists to start focusing on issues instead of make believe things. I thought the Dada art was actually hilarious. The fountain is so obnoxious and sarcastic but actually has some good meaning behind it. Representing war with meaningless art is sort of brilliant. I found a link that explains Dada art and has a video connect, kind of interesting:http://arthistory.about.com/cs/arthistory10one/a/dada.htm

    Like

  3. I thought you blog was very interesting. I also noticed how dark and gruesome the art became after World War I. I think people artist included were used to the darkness of times and ever present death so that is the way art moved. I think the painter Otto Dix which you wrote about is a good example of how dark art became. I agree with your statement that art changed and it is no longer beautiful women and flowers. This type of art is even though at times is abstract is much more authentic and real to me. I appreciate it at face value and do not have to read into what the possible meaning might be. I think the painting The War Cripples shows that you wrote about above shows what I am talking about. It is somewhat abstract as the people are not proportionate an but you can immediately recognize them as soldiers and see that the war changed them. Your blog was very informative and a great read. Good Job.

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed the paintings you chose to connect to the war. Duchamp seemed to be a very famous part of the Dada movement, and probably the most courageous( to put into nice terms). I used his “artwork” that he did with Da Vincs’ painting. All Duchamp really did to the Mona Lisa was give her a mustache but it was his trademark to do silly things to art and make them his. I had never seen the painting The War Cripples, and the background to the story was very interesting. My favorite painting you chose was definitely the one by Paul Nash, though. Ruined country is an absolutely beautiful painting that shows what the world looked like after the war. I love the colors he used and even though it may have been to show the negative affects, I really enjoyed the painting. Thank you for your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome blog! You and I wrote about similar things but it’s nice to see someone else’s point of view on the subject matter. I’m glad I’m not the only one that thinks the Dada movement was quite weird. The works of art developed during that era were very interesting. I didn’t see The War Cripples though when I was researching the war. I like that one. It was different than anything I found when I researched Otto Dix. Ruined Country by Paul Nash was a beautiful work choice too. I can only imagine what the world was like before the war. Your blog was very informative and I really enjoyed it. Good job!

    Like

  6. I really enjoyed reading your piece for this selection of art. The fountain art by Marchel Duchamp was a very interesting piece to me and I can easily understand why is was criticized so much. This was a very abnormal piece for this time and stood out for being different than all the rest. I disagree with you though and I would consider this a piece of art but I have no idea what Duchamp was trying to portray with it.

    Like

  7. Great job on your blog! I found it very interesting and informative. I love that you showcased Fountain by Duchamp. While I understand your stance on its classification as art, I think I must disagree. While he may not have created the item, he made a statement with it. It was a move that showed he was thinking outside of the box. Further, it was move that continued the movement and expression of art as it was initially excluded from exhibit because it was deemed inappropriate (possibly if viewed by women) and artistic censorship was an ongoing concern of the time. A very informative background on Duchamp and his experiences with censorship can be read here:

    http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/duchamp-fountain-t07573/text-summary

    Like

  8. I love what you’ve done here with your blog Emily. Your exhibit of the Early Modern Era and Dada movement really spoke to me. The Dada movement really seemed to effect the style of art during this time, making it take a somewhat dark turn as you stated. I’m a fan of changes in art style, and drastic new ideas so the dark scheme is cool to me. I like how they tried to incorporate the emotions of the world and project them directly into their artwork. Here is a link to some additional World War 1 art if you’re interested! http://www.memorial-caen.fr/10EVENT/EXPO1418/gb/visite.html

    Like

Leave a comment